Everyday Beauty

In the midst of the events of everyday life beauty often surprises me. A glance towards the Western sky outside a local restaurant revealed this colorful sunset.

Even on the most difficult days when I stop and reflect, I find that there is much that I have to be grateful for.

I have also found that the process of counting my blessings lifts my spirits and helps me be more aware of God’s presence in my life. I also know that it is only by being disciplined in engaging in this and other spiritual disciplines that I can fully experience the love that God seeks to pour out on my life.

Being a part of a Faith Community helps me to maintain my commitment to being disciplined in my spiritual disciplines and to know that God is at work in the world through people of faith.  Individuals who support one another and seek to share God’s love with their neighbors. Individuals who feed the hungry, care for the sick, respond to Natural Disasters, console the grieving, support the work of chaplains, listen to those who are troubled, and reach out in countless ways.

Today’s photo was taken in the parking lot of a local restaurant on May 3, 2024.

I have done more than 1,400 Daily Photo Devotions, most of which can be seen on this blog.

Published by davidsmith703

David is a United Methodist Pastor who serves two small churches in the Adirondacks. His photography allows him to stop and enjoy the wonders of nature and our world.

Leave a comment